Family and Fabulous Fur Babies

Free Will is a Bleep.

How do you approach a loved one about their life style choices?

 

familyAs much as we’d like to think we have control of other people, elements or factors the sad truth is we do not. Most people think they are always right (I am not excluded from this) and they will not make a change for better or for worse until it is their idea. The experiences a person goes through leading up to that fateful light bulb moment are very important. They will help to inspire and motivate the individual throughout their journey.

There are many people in my life who would benefit from a fitness transformation but they are not ready for it. If you have a similar situation I urge you to be patient and understanding. It is hard to face your mistakes and admitting that you are overweight or unhealthy is like facing a lifetime of mistakes all at once.

If you or someone you know has just started a weight loss/fat loss/transformation journey be prepared for a lot of struggles- especially early on. It takes a lot of courage, strength and determination to form new habits. Once it becomes a life style you will hardly notice the little things that have changed in your day to day! Before I started my journey I hated running and exercise in general, I thought waking up at 8 am was early and “healthy” food (AKA anything that wasn’t McDonald’s) was disgusting. I lived in my own bubble and never left. I stuck to the same processed foods and never tried anything new or fun. I didn’t know what I was missing. Now I wake up at 4:30 am and consider sleeping until 5 am sleeping in, I try new foods often (I think Octopus is next on the list) and I am always trying to push myself out of my comfort zone.

Anyone who hasn’t taken that first step on their journey is like a person living in a tiny dark room. They can’t see the door yet but they know nothing bad has happened to them inside the room. They know nothing of the world beyond the room. Then all of a sudden they see a door and it’s scary. They spend all of their time imagining all of the horrible things that could happen just trying to get to the door- let alone what could be outside. Maybe that’s a silly comparison but that’s how I imagine it. There’s no one in that room but them, no one else can live their life, no one else can make their choices for them.

The only thing you can do is be patient and encourage them to keep trying. Don’t shame them or talk down to them. It will only make them resent you and stay away from anything you suggest. They have to make the decision on their own. Be there to help them once they do.

 

Leave a Reply

