GYMRAT

Use the force..but don’t force it.

gym memeYes, yes The Force Awakens just came out but this post is not about that. This post details the most useful thing I have learned since I began my fitness journey. If you try to force yourself to do something you really don’t like or enjoy (especially several things all at once) you will crash and burn out fast. I eat good healthy food all the time but I only eat things I enjoy. My particular eating tactic (I don’t like the connotation attached to “diet”) consists of high protein, moderate carbs and low fat. This works for me but something else might work for you. Everyone is different.

However, trying new strategies, new exercises, and new foods should be done slowly. Trying to change every little bad habit you have all at once will not work. I’m looking at you resolutioners! Deciding to lose weight is a vague goal. Make it more specific and more attainable. If you break your big overall goals down into smaller “mini-goals” you will be less likely to burn out and you will feel better about yourself during your journey. It’s not about the end result. It’s about making this change into a lifestyle. You will never get there without hard work. This is not a quick fix.

If you are working your way into exercise start small. Do something you like. Walk your dog and gradually make the walks longer and longer as you go. Start playing some sports regularly with friends. Go lift weights! There are many fun and challenging ways to incorporate fitness into your everyday life. If you don’t like running then don’t run. If you hate weight lifting then don’t lift. That being said, give things a chance before you dismiss them. I have always always always hated running right up until I actually tried it. I began looking at it as a tool instead of a chore. No one was making me run, I wanted to do it. Now I run at least 3 times per week with my puppy Cubone. She’s adorable by the way!

One of the many things I have tried that I do not like is kale. You can tell me every single health benefit it has and I still will not put it on my salad. I don’t like it and that is a personal choice. If I prepped meals comprised of foods I did not like I would not eat them and then I would get so hungry I would scarf down the first junk food I saw.

So yes always try new things. You could find a new favorite hobby or food that you never would have thought of before. If you don’t like something don’t force it. Just remember that there are many healthy options to choose from so you’re bound to enjoy something.

6 thoughts on “Use the force..but don’t force it.

  1. Hi IronLizerd,
    Congratulations on being Danny Ray’s feature blogger! I was his feature blogger too! Perhaps you’ll check out my blog if you need a blogging tip or two; that’s what I write about.
    In response to your post, do you want to know who likes kale? Katy Perry. I saw her in concert, and she discussed it.
    Janice

    Like

Leave a Reply

